PAF: CoLaboratory

CoLaboratory Logo

I guess you can say I am excited ecstatic. The intense application and the rush to print my work at the last minute was worth it. I was accepted today for the Portland Advertising Federation‘s CoLaboratory internship. I thought the work I put forth was thoughtful and maybe just a little awesome, and for some crazy reason…they agreed. I will be working as a copywriter at 3 different Portland agencies all while working on my pitch to the “mystery client”. If this sounds ambiguous to you, you are not mistaken. The details will work themselves out, as they usually do.

This is a great chance. A chance to see what the magic little element that takes rough, tired ideas and makes them new…hip even. I’m sure it will be different for every agency. Some may have giant foam bats and trampolines (or something similar) and others will probably be a bit more straight laced. Nothing matters but what comes out of the other end of the magic black box of the agency. Which black box furniture and culture is the most effective at producing unexpected and effective client solutions. Of course we can’t forget that the ideas coming out have to be brilliant and “get-behind-able”. I mean, when I get done with work, and I see my non-advertising friends, I have to be able to tell them what I did that day without having to feel embarrassed or like a politician.

In other words: No “Head-On” spots…no matter what they pay me. (Which isn’t much right now)

One Response to PAF: CoLaboratory

  1. Marcus says:

    Nice blog. Somebody’s jealous of Kellen…

Leave a comment